Showing Collections: 76 - 91 of 91
Tyler Family Papers, Group A
Tyler Family Papers, Group E
Chiefly writings, ca. 1880-1935, of Lyon Gardiner Tyler, historian. Most concern Virginia history in the colonial period, or defend his father, John Tyler, or defend the southern point of view in the Civil War. Includes an unpublished history of the Virginia Line in the American Revolution. Also includes writings, 1921-1951, of his second wife, Sue Ruffin Tyler, and of other authors.
Tyler Family Papers, Group G
Unidentified Civil War Union Soldier letter
United Daughters of the Confederacy Records, Williamsburg (Va.)
Scrapbook material from the Williamsburg Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy (UDC) consisting of newspaper clippings on the Civil War, veterans still living, battle reenactments, correspondence, yearbooks, programs, and other. Also included are papers concerning Confederate monuments in Williamsburg, as well as dealing with the Cross of Honor. One copy of "A History of the United Daughters of the Confederacy" is included.
Elizabeth Van Lew Collection
Virginia Counties Collection
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Andrew J. Weeks Papers
William E. Wiatt Account Book
Account book of William E. Wiatt kept in Gloucester and Mathews counties, Virginia containing accounts, 1861-1874. Includes a record of books lent to soldiers of the 26th Virginia Infantry Regiment August 1862-September 1863 and of marriages, 1856-1881, performed by Wiatt mostly in King and Queen, Gloucester and Mathews counties. There is a list, 1869-1870, of students in his school in Gloucester County and his accounts indicate that he also worked as a land surveyor.
William A. Finney Letter
William Wing Loring Letters
Richard Williams Papers
Willie G. M. Letter to Sue
Letter from Willie G.M. to Sue dated February the Last, 1861 from Gordonsville, Virginia. In it, Willie writes of wanting to be with Sue but dismisses her proposition for her and Jose to visit. He insists that Jose has too much of a desire to be "white" for his liking. The letter continues as he laments his aching neck and absence from her.
Wingfield-Britton family papers
Photos, letters, a diary, an account book, and an album belonging to members of the Wingfield-Britton family. The collection ranges from pre-civil war to the 1980s, with the bulk of the material dated around the early 1900s. The correspondence covers a number of topics including health and family life, farming, and travel in the north-western valley region of Virginia.
Asa John Wyatt Diary
Civil War diary of a soldier of the Army of Northern Virginia, 21st Virginia Infantry Regiment, Company I. The content spans June 19, 1861 through July 29, 1862, the latter as part of Jackson's Valley Campaign. The diary includes information concerning the Battle of Kernstown, although Wyatt was not a participant. A typescript is included.
Yorktown Campaign Report
Report of Captain Jason R. Hanna, Co. C, 63rd Pennsylvania Vol. to Lt. Col. A. S. M. Morgan concerning operations on April 11, 1862, to take possession of rifle pits on north and west fronts of a peach orchard relieving the 5th Michigan Volunteers. This report describes a diagram (not present).